Summer slows to a halt

August 2, 2010

I would like to begin my first blog post by giving a special thank you to my best friend Amber for inspiring me not only to cook and bake, but also to start up my own blog.  I have been reading hers for quite some time now and decided it was time I share my insights.  So Thank You Amber!!!  (If you would like to check out her blog, you can find it at http://www.AlmostVeganBlog.com.

I just got back this evening from Oshkosh, Wisconsin.  It is one of my favorite vacation spots and the weather is amazing.  Most of my family is from Wisconsin, so yes, I do love beer and brats!  …and beer brats!  If you’ve never had a beer brat, I will have to make a post on making them because they are amazing.  Usually I try to stay on track of eating right, watching my intake of carbs, salts, sugars and saturated fats, but when I’m on vacation, that can sometimes slip out the window for me.  Especially when I’m in the cheese state!  I have a few pictures to share from my trip, but for those of you who eat on the healthier side, I will spare you on most of what I ate as I did not remember to take pictures (all I have to say is people up north love fried food!).  I figured after my vacation would be a good time to start fresh and begin my blog.

Having eaten heavily for the past few days, I wanted something on the light side for dinner when I returned.  I knew I had some opened pesto sauce in the refrigerator, so I thought perhaps pasta, but that still seemed a little heavy.  I decided on a can of tuna and mixed it with some leftover canned peas I had.  I usually eat my tuna with tostito chips or pretzels, but I wanted to stay away from any sort of bread or chips this evening.  It was rather tasty and perfect for when you don’t want to do a lot of cooking and just want something light and easy.

3 Responses to “Summer slows to a halt”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    Yayayay! I’m so excited for your new blog! We should definitely have another wine night soon so we can get your site set-up all finished, and make it super-snazzy!

  2. Christy said

    welcome to the blogging world 😉

    you guys are much better at eating healthier then I am. If we have a vegetable with a meal, I consider that a win, lol.

Leave a Reply

