Wisconsin Travels

August 4, 2010

I have heard it over and over again.  “You’re going to Wisconsin for vacation?!  What’s in Wisconsin?  Cows?”  To me, it’s a great vacation spot.  The weather is beautiful, especially in July and August.  The temperature is about perfect!  And there is a LOT to do there!  This time I went I had to take my boyfriend with me to share it with him.  🙂

The first place I wanted to take him was Lambeau Field.  I am a big Packers fan, and as he may be a Broncos fan, who can resist to see Lambeau Field?!  Our first attempt was a fail since it was Stockholders Day.  All the tours were booked.  So we decided to try another day.  That same evening we went to an event called Waterfest in Oshkosh, WI.  Every Thursday during the summer they have an outdoor concert on the river.  The bands aren’t always amazing, but it’s still a great time.  There was a great band this year called Boogie and the YoYozz (http://www.yoyoz.com/home.asp).  I always enjoy to sit out in the grass listening to music and drinking a beer in 80 degree weather with very little humidity (the only thing I had to worry about were the mosquito’s).

I wanted to add that we did stop for a snack at Waverly Beach that day and I got a Miller Light in a can…this was the strangest can I’ve ever drunken out of!  It was pretty good!

The next day we had to get up a little early to head to Milwaukee to hit up the Miller Brewery.  😀  Oh boy, was I excited, even though I went there last summer.  Half way to Milwaukee, we stopped for breakfast at a little family restaurant called Faros . I really wish I had a picture of what I ate to share with you.   I’m not usually a big cheese person, but when I’m on vacation, my health sometimes flies out the window and I tend to try things I don’t normally eat.  And cheese is definitely something you try in Wisconsin!  I ordered myself a four cheese omelet.  It had American, Swiss, Mozzorella, and Cheddar cheeses in it and it was the cheesiest omelet I have ever had!  Along with my omelet I had hash browns, wheat toast, and coffee.  And no, I most definitely could not finish this meal.  🙂

After the brewery tour, we sat down and had first a large sample of Miller Light.  It was quite tasty.  (Below is my boyfriend, Tyler, and I excited to have our first sample.)

We were allowed two other samples after that, which I chose what I believe was called Batch 99 Lager for my second and Leininkugl’s Classic Amber (a new brew for Leininkugl’s), which is pictured below.  They were both rather tasty.  I really like Lagers, so Batch 99 was a hit with me.

After the brewery, it was pretty late in the afternoon and we had planned on eating an early dinner, so on the way back to Oshkosh, we stopped at a restaurant called Went’s.  This is the best known restaurant for fish in Oshkosh and other small cities in that area.  Since the EAA airshow was going on that week, we decided to get there early, around 4pm, in order to beat the rush.  It is usally so packed in this restaurant by 5pm that you are standing “buddy-buddy”-close next to other guests at the bar.  Now, I am not a fish person.  The only type of fish you will ever see me eat is tuna.  (Ironically enough, that was on my first post.)  But my favorite thing about this restaurant is that they make the best Brandy Old-fashioned’s.  If you are not familiar with this drink, it’s native to the North, so very few bartenders in Kansas know how to make it.  It is brandy, bitters, sugar, a splash of coke, and a cherry and orange to garnish.  The next best thing?  They were $3, tax included!  Now, this is the only place I have tried fried fish.  And again, I wish I had taken a picture of it to show you.  Some people say “everything is good fried.”  Well…I did not like the fish.  I ate about a piece of it and was done.  Thank goodness we had ordered fried white cheddar cheese curds as an appetizer (No, I do not always eat fried food – I generally try to stay away from it, but I was on vacation  😉  ).

Since we had an early dinner, we made a stop later in the evening at Ardy and Ed’s (http://www.ardyandeds.com/).  It’s an old drive-in from the  1950s and the best place to get a root beer float.  Maybe it’s just drinking root beer out of the thick glass mugs, but they seem to have the best root beer.

The following day was a day for rest.  🙂  However, we did have to make a run to the Cheese Factory (http://www.unionstarcheese.com/cart/home.php) and the Breadsmith (http://www.breadsmith.com/).  At the Cheese Factory they make their cheese fresh everyday, so I HAD to get some o their fresh mozzarella.  I also usually get some jalapeno cheddar when I am up there, but they did not have it this time.  But what they did have that sounded very good was some Tomato Basil Cheddar!  I have not yet decided what I am going to make with it!  I happened to see that they had honey and jams as well.  I saw they had Creamed Honey.  I have never had it, nor have I heard of it!  I went ahead and bought some and decided I will find something to use it with later.  I am more interested in just trying it (I may have to open it and take a spoon to it  😀  ).  My family likes the cheese curds, however I am not a fan of them.  They call it “squeaky cheese” because when it’s fresh, it squeaks when you chew it.

The next stop was the Breadsmith (http://www.breadsmith.com/).  We had been there a couple days earlier because my father wanted to get some cinnamon bread and I had seen they had Garlic Basil flat bread.  We had to go back so I could get some flat bread.  🙂  It is amazing.  It is good by itself, with olive oil (and basil and garlic salt), I’m pretty sure it would be good with marinara dipping sauce, but I decided to make Indian Spice Hummus (http://almostveganblog.com/2009/03/23/indian-spice-hummus/) to go with it!

The last full day we were there, we made it to Lambeau Field!

I couldn’t leave without bringing something back with me.  So as much coffee and tea as I drink and as little shots that I take, I decided to get myself a coffee mug and a shot glass.  Think I’m a Packers fan?  😉

(You will notice my cat, Karma, trying to sneak her way into the picture.  She’s such a princess.)

I had a great time in Wisconsin and cannot wait to go back next summer!

3 Responses to “Wisconsin Travels”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    Great synopsis of your trip!
    I’ve never heard of that Brandy’s Old-Fashioned drink either, very interesting! Creamed honey, hmm, you’ll have to let me check that out, maybe try it :] And hummus + flatbread = YUM!

  2. Rebecca said

    The bread was delicious!!!

  3. Christy said

    I wonder if a trip to the Boulevard factory here would be just as fun? I really like Miller, so I think I’d enjoy that.

    you two are so cute together!

Leave a Reply

