Exhausting Weekend

August 9, 2010

I had quite the weekend!  It seems sometimes my summers can be just as busy as my school semesters!  I got up early on Saturday to try and fit everything in.  My day started at about 6am with a visit to the gym, followed by my favorite breakfast with my mother at First Watch (Fresh Fruit Crepes w/ a side of potatos and a glass of Iced Tea).  After breakfast, my friend Brittany showed up to jump in the pool with me before we ate lunch at Planet Sub (I enjoyed my turkey sandwich w/ lettuce only, a bag of original sun chips, and an ice water).  It’s not often I eat Planet Sub, but I would put it in my top sub places!  After lunch, Brittany and I headed to Crown Center to see a children’s show called “Lucky Duck.”  It was adorable!  Since we were already at Crown Center, we did a little shopping (spent a little money at Bath and Bodyworks), then headed home.  Shortly after arriving home, I was headed over to a friend’s house to watch movies.

Having such an exhausting Saturday, I assumed I would relax on Sunday.  It turned out my sister wanted to go swimming (I got quite a bit of sun this weekend!) and I had wanted to pick something up from the mall.  I usually cook a homemade dinner for Tyler and I on Sunday evenings, but this Sunday I was just so exhausted.  I stopped by Whole Foods on my way home from the mall to see if I could find anything quick and easy.  I picked up some Whole Wheat Ravioli stuffed with Spinach and Cheese and also a new Tofurkey Vegan Cheese pizza.  I had seen an add for the Tofurkey pizzas in Eating Well (my favorite food magazine!) and was very interested in trying them.  Tyler picked the Ravioli over the pizza, so I cooked the Ravioli as instructed and served it with a side of pesto sauce for dipping and a side of garlic olive oil.  It was very delicious!

Wheat Ravioli with Pesto and Garlic Olive Oil

1  22oz. bag of 365 Everyday Value Organic Wheat Ravioli with Cheese and Spinach

3 tablespoons of   Sinatra’s Pesto Sauce

3 tablespoons of  Benissimo Roasted Garlic Olive Oil

Boil water in a medium sized pot, then add the ravioli and stir occasionally until tender.  I cooked mine for about 10 minutes.  Drain the ravioli and serve with a side of pesto sauce and a side of olive oil.  Quick and easy!  A total of about 20 minutes, including preparation!  It was nice to have dinner ready so quickly and Tyler and I both thought it was fantastic.

One Response to “Exhausting Weekend”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I love First Watch’s fruit crepes too! I featured them in a past “leftovers” post, though I can’t recall which one.

    The ravioli sounds good, especially with pesto! And I still have to try a Tofurkey pizza!! Let me know how it is; it looks delicious.

    Sorry I didn’t reply to your text yesterday, I’ve been busy again, with not a single free day for me all week =/ But Zumba tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

