Smoothie Wednesday!

August 11, 2010

Man, this heat and humidity is just dreadfully awful!  I’ve had the hardest time this summer getting myself out of bed to go to the gym.  I’ve even had to start sleeping in the basement in order to stay cool enough to sleep!  But I can always get myself up for “Smoothie Wednesday!”  I usually stop by Smoothie King (http://www.smoothieking.com/) on Wednesdays after my workout for my favorite smoothie – Peanut Power + Fiber Blend.  However, they are rather expensive and I’m going to have a very tight budget this semester since I won’t have much time to work.  So this morning I made my own smoothie.  My mother had bought some blueberry Greek yogurt for me, thinking that I liked it (which unfortunately I am not a fan), so I thought the perfect way to use it would be in a smoothie. (Usually I would use any flavor of Belfonte)

Not only is Belfonte usually my favorite yogurt for smoothies, but also my favorite lunch for work!

I ALWAYS put some peanut butter in my smoothies because I just can’t get enough of it!  The particular peanut butter I used for this smoothie is 365 Everyday Value Organic Creamy Peanut Butter (if I do not have this, I will usually use Skippy Extra Crunch).  This is the most unusual peanut butter I’ve ever used because it says to refrigerate after opening!  But I found that it is better for you than brands like Skippy.  I like them both!  I also always use 8th Continent Light Vanilla Soymilk and fresh berries.  I LOVE fresh berries, but the problem I run into is that you must eat them quickly before they go bad.  So what I usually do is buy a bulk of them when they are on sale and freeze them.  There is so much you can do with frozen berries!  :)  I also borrowed Amber’s idea and started eating my smoothies out of a bowl.  It does really make me feel like I’ve actually had a meal and not just a drink.

Mixed Berry Smoothie

1 5oz. cup of Dannon Greek Blueberry Nonfat Yogurt

1/4th cup of frozen (or fresh) Blackberries

1/4th cup of frozen (or fresh Blueberries

1/2 cup of 8th Continent Light Vanilla Soymilk

2 hefty tablespoons of 365 Everyday Value Organic Creamy Peanut Butter (or Extra Crunchy Peanut Butter)

Sliced Almonds (Optional)

Put all ingredients, except for almonds, into the blender.  If your berries are frozen, you may want to use the “Ice Breaker” or “Pulse” button a few times to chop them up a bit.  Then blend till creamy and well-mixed, about 1-2 minutes.

Pour into a bowl (or glass) and enjoy!

You may top with almonds if desired.

3 Responses to “Smoothie Wednesday!”

  1. Christy said

    I wish my food proccessor hadn’t broke (ok, I accidently left it on the stove and turned the wrong burner on… oops! I wonder if they sell just the bowls?) I’d totally try to make a smoothie today,

    I’m telling you though, girl, try Robeks! They are sooo awesome!

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    YUM! I looove blackberries, and woohoo for smoothie soups! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

