Hoisin Beef Stew

August 13, 2010

It’s my first slow cooker meal!  That’s right.  I’ve never made a slow cooker meal before.  I came across this recipe on the Whole Foods website.  Have I mentioned how much I LOVE that website?  I will have to share with you some other very good recipes I’ve found on that website another time.

The first thing I want to mention is that you will need to prepare the vegetables and meat the night before to soak in the sauce overnight.  I had never had, nor heard of, Hoisin before, so it was a “sweet” surprise!  😉  I have also never cooked with ginger before.  They did not have fresh ginger at the store I was shopping at, so I picked up this:I would recommend picking up some fresh ginger, but my stew turned out just find using this crystalized ginger.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of beef broth

1 9-10oz bottle of hoisin sauce

1 tsp of hot sauce

3 cloves of garlic, minced

1 1-inch piece of peeled ginger, grated (or crystalized ginger)

1 1/2 pounds of cubed round or chuck stew beef

1/2-1 yellow onion, roughly chopped (the original recipe called for 2 onions, but I found that even 1 was almost too much)

1 cup of baby carrots (you may choose to cut them up just a little)

2 ribs of celery, roughly chopped

In a wide shallow dish or bowl, whisk together the beef broth, hoisin sauce, hot sauce, garlic, and ginger.  Add the beef, onion, carrots, and celery and toss to coat.
Cover and refrigerate overnight.

In the morning, pour the meat mixture into your slow cooker, cover, and cook on a low setting for about 6-8 hours until the beef is tender.

I started my stew before I left for work, and since my mother was home most of that day, I had her keep an eye on it, especially since this is my first time using the slow cooker.  After about 4-5 hours on “1” setting, she informed me the beef was still tough, so she moved it up to “2” setting for another 3-4 hours.

I went to a Zumba class with Amber after work, so I was quite hungry by the time I got home and saw this!  It smelled amazing!

I ladled myself a bowl and was a bit surprised with the sweet kick!  It was delicious!  In fact, it was almost too rich.  I could only have one bowl that evening!  That means I had dinner for the next week.  😉

3 Responses to “Hoisin Beef Stew”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    Even though I wouldn’t eat the beef, of course, I love hoisin sauce!

  2. Christy said

    yum. and how old is your slow cooker by the way? lol.

    so, if you like crock pot meals, check out A Year Of Slow Cooking:
    http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

    honestly, some of her meals did not sound good but every single thing I’ve tried as been awesome. I love the versatility of recipes in the crock pot.

Leave a Reply

