Gluten Free Mexican Wedding Cookies

September 9, 2010

This week for ACDA’s Conductor’s Cup I have baked something new that I have never tried before!  Mexican Wedding Cookies!  I found them when I was searching for “Gluten Free” recipes.  (http://www.glutenfreeda.com/recipe-view.asp?cat=7&id=2674)  I’m sort of on a gluten free kick.  My voice teacher who has moved away could not have gluten products, so I am always thinking about those who are like her.  I could not IMAGINE not being able to have gluten products.  Gluten is in EVERYTHING!  This recipe (like the peanut butter cookies) also has few ingredients and is quite easy.

1 cup of pecans

1 cup of butter (The original recipe calls for “unsalted” butter.  I chose to use Earth Balance)

1/4th tsp salt

1/2 cup powdered sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups of gluten free flour

1 cup of powdered sugar after baking

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet (or two) with parchment paper.

Place pecans in a skillet over medium heat and toast until starting to brown or fragrant.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Once they are cool, you can grind and process them until finely chopped, or do it the old-fashioned way like me and use a hand-held chopper.  🙂  In a mixing bowl, beat butter, salt, 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, and vanilla.  Again, I chose to use my hand-held mixer, but a stationary mixer will work just fine.  Gradually beat in pecans, then flour and mix until blended.  Roll them into 1-inch balls and place them on the baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned.

Once cookies are firm, transfer them to a rack to cool.  When they are completely cooled, roll them in powdered sugar.

My mother used the phrase “melt in your mouth” when she tried one.  🙂

5 Responses to “Gluten Free Mexican Wedding Cookies”

  1. What a great idea. Now I know what to bake for a freind who is gluten intolerant, the only problem will be to save some from the other guests.
    Thanks for this recipe

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I looove these cookies…they’re one of our family’s Xmas cookies (we call them Russian Tea Cakes, but they’re the same thing). We always roll them twice in the powd. sugar :] Never tried them with GF flour, though.

    Here’s a GF cookie recipe that I’m making [hopefully] this weekend… http://wingitvegan.blogspot.com/2010/08/mutant-flourless-chocolate-cookies-and.html

Leave a Reply

