Football Season Has Arrived!

September 12, 2010

I am so excited that football season has started and the Packers won their first game of the season against the Eagles!  I actually had a football-packed day today.  First I made some Indian Spice Hummus (http://almostveganblog.com/2009/03/23/indian-spice-hummus/) to take to Tyler’s for their Bronco’s game that was at noon, then I left their game a little early to get to The Fox and the Hound for my Packers game at 3:15.  Unfortunately the Bronco’s lost, but the Packers won, so it was evened out.

Something new this weekend…I decided to go “meat-free.”  That’s right, no more meat for this girl.  It’s not that I do not enjoy meat, but I am trying to eat healthier and I don’t eat a whole lot of meat anyway.  I started yesterday.  And of course my brother-in-law and sister decided they wanted Tyler and I to go to 54th Street Bar and Grille with them.  I absolutely love their burgers, but this time I got their veggie burger, which was just as amazing!  I got sweet potato fries with it and they were to die for.  I would say they have the best sweet potato fries I’ve ever had.  I would describe them as salted-sweetness with a crispy bite into heaven.  😀

A few things from the past couple of weeks…

Since I was so busy with school work a couple weeks ago, it was the perfect time for me to try out the new Tofurky Vegan Cheese Pizza.

It was rather tasty!  I actually ate almost the entire thing by myself.  The only thing that I found different from a regular oven pizza was the cheese.  It was creamier and liked to stick to my teeth.  But it was really delicious!

Tyler and I went to dinner one night the week before last because I needed an excuse to pull myself away from my studies so I wouldn’t burn myself out.  We went to his favorite Mexican restaurant, Dos Reales.  I ordered a chicken and cheese quesadilla with a spinach tortilla.  It was pretty amazing, however too big to finish.  (Especially since I’m one of those freaks who fills themselves up on chips and salsa before my meal comes.)  🙂

The following week I went to my first professional football game!  Chiefs vs. Packers.  We tailgated in the rain before going into the game.

That’s right.  We had brats, burgers, baked beans, homemade chili queso, and chips.  Oh!  I must not forget about the beer!  😉  I had to have my Leinenkugel’s Sunset Wheat.  We went to get our seats before the game started.  And of course I had to buy an outrageously priced beer to drink while watch the game ($7 for a bottled beer is ridiculous!).  Our seats were pretty high up and the Packers lost, but I still had an awesome time!

And before you say anything about the Packers losing to the Chiefs, keep in mind that none of the starters were playing, including Rogers.

This weekend has been pretty relaxed and I am so glad for that.  I am finally starting to feel caught up with school and am enjoying every minute of life again.  🙂

2 Responses to “Football Season Has Arrived!”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I didn’t know you were going to go totally veg! RACHEL! That is SO AWESOME! I’m so happy and I support you all the way! Ok it may be silly I’m this excited, but seriously, that’s SO GREAT!

Leave a Reply

