Roasted Red Pepper and Garlic Hummus

October 10, 2010

As busy as I have been lately, I haven’t had as much time to really look into what I should be eating since I’ve decided to go vegetarian.  It’s also been quite difficult since I haven’t had any time to even hit the grocery store in two weeks.  I have officially resorted to whatever I can find to eat which means most often I have to skip breakfast if I want to have something for lunch.  :/  It sort of sucks, but I’ve been getting by, just not healthily.  Like I was saying, I’ve mostly resorted to cheez-its, canned veggies, or pita chips.  And I have increased my soda intake.  I used to not drink soda, but since I’ve had so little to eat, and even little time to eat, soda seems to work well as a filler and an energizer.

As this semester has been difficult, I’ve been lucky enough to have a loving and supporting man in my life.   🙂

I have decided, starting tomorrow, I am going back to meat and hitting the gym.  I have not been to my gym in over a month because I have had so much school work to get done and unfortunately sleep is needed.

Yesterday I decided to make some hummus for lunch and I had some roasted red peppers I wanted to use!

1 can of white beans, drained and rinsed

4 cloves of garlic

3 roasted red peppers

1/4th cup of water

3 tbsp of tahini

1 tsp of salt

Put the beans, garlic and peppers in the food processor.   Pulse until combined.  Scrap down the sides with a spatula.  Add in the tahini and turn on the food processor for about a minute, streaming in some or all of your water.  Try your hummus and then decide if you prefer to at the salt.  I found that the salt cut down the bite just a bit.  Scrap down the sides, then add the salt and turn the food processor on for about another minute or two.  I ate mine with Stacy’s pita chips.  🙂

2 Responses to “Roasted Red Pepper and Garlic Hummus”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    Can I ask, how come your eating habits changed so drastically when you went veg? You used to tell me you had oatmeal, blueberries, and almonds for breakfast, and snacked on carrots and yogurt, etc…what turned that into cheez-its and soda? I’m confused as to why you feel having meat gone has been so hard – and why you’re adding it back – when you certainly weren’t eating it for every meal, or even every day, before. Eating vegetarian, even vegan, seriously isn’t any harder than eating meat…just so, so, so much healthier. 😦 I don’t understand.

    PS—the hummus looks yummy.

  2. Christy said

    I wish there was a way to make fresh fruit last longer. I loooovveee fruit but it always goes bad before I eat it. And packaged fruits are not as good!
    I think the trick is to only have healthy snacks in the house. I bet you could make a big batch of a couple of meals, split them up, and freeze them. I do that, especially when things get busy. I also like to make things that can be turned into something else after it’s been frozen. I’m sure Amber has lots of suggestions for those things!

    Of course, I don’t really know anything about healthy eating 😉

Leave a Reply

