Busy Happenings Fall/2010

January 10, 2011

I have been MIA for quite some time, yes, and it is quite possible that may happen again this semester.  School is very important to me and I do enjoy it, even though it consumes the majority of my free time.

So much happened last semester that I don’t even know where to begin.  I spent a great deal of time observing and teaching at Summit Pointe Elementary.  I really enjoyed it and the teacher, Mrs. Henley, and I got along great.  She is truly an amazing teacher and I feel privileged to have been able to work with her.  We do still keep in contact and share ideas, but I will miss working with her and her children.

As far as other activities that school involved, things were pretty crazy.  Between studying for Late Music History tests, preparing presentations, and performing in concerts, life was pretty busy.  I know it is too small to read, but here is a look at what my week was like 2 weeks before finals.

The blue is school related, the red are concerts and work, the orange are activities, and the pink are tests.  This was quite the semester and many of my weeks looked just like this.  You better believe I was glad to have a break!

I spent most of my break working and spending time with my amazing man, Tyler.  He has been so sweet and understanding through all of this.  🙂  We shared the holidays this year and spent time with both of our families.  We also took on a hobby of knitting together.  We are in the process right now of knitting an afghan together.  We finished our first two squares this past weekend.

The colors are orange and navy (Broncos colors).  I have several things I want to try knitting, so I am excited.  🙂  Isn’t it great that I take on hobbies right before I am going to be too busy to enjoy them?  Hee hee.

Tyler and I went to half priced books the other day and I bought a couple things that I am super excited about.  The first is a book by Kathy Reichs called “Death du Jour.”  I am very excited to start reading her books.  My favorite TV show is Bones and Kathy Reichs is who the shows are based off of and she has a series of books that I am excited to start reading.

Tyler and I have been watching the episodes of Bones in succession together.  I have seen almost all of them already, but he hasn’t.  We even dressed up as Boothe and Bones for Halloween.


And my sister was Angela!

The other book I bought is called Dinner on a Dime from Reader’s Digest.  I just happened upon it, while becoming overwhelmed with the cookbook section (can’t I just have them all?).

Tyler and I flipped through some of the recipes because I usually cook for the both of us.  It makes it more fun and I can find out what Tyler likes in the process.  🙂  I’ve already read through some of the wonderful money saving tips the book gives.  DEFINITELY something I need.  I’ve not been good about budgeting myself since I’ve been in school full time.  I’m used to having the extra spending money that no longer exists in my world.

While we are on the topic of books, I want to show you what I received from Tyler’s mother for Christmas!  Among other items, she gave my two books:  “Pizza!” by Pippa Cuthbert & Lindsay Cameron Wilson, and “What’s a Cook to do?” by James Peterson.   These books are pretty awesome and they are not something I would have thought to buy myself!  Keep in mind, I only met Tyler’s mom ONCE before she bought me these awesome Christmas gifts.  I was shocked.  …and happy.  🙂

Because I had been so busy last semester and over the break, I fell out of my gym routine.  But I have since found a way to keep up my gym enthusiasm.  I have been going regularly for a week now and it has been wonderful.  Oh gym, how I have missed you so!

There are probably a few things I have left out…my apologizes, but that’s the gist of it!  I’m glad to be back!

P.S.  I almost forgot to mention that I cut off 6 inches of my hair!  ( You may have noticed that in the picture of Tyler and I.)  It was difficult for me to cut so much off, but I actually love my new cut.

2 Responses to “Busy Happenings Fall/2010”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I love the new menu bar up top AND the new haircut!

    Speaking of books, I have one that you must must MUST read. It’s called Diet For a New America by John Robbins. As soon as Matt’s done with it, you should borrow it from me. Along with Food Inc. (movie) if you haven’t seen it already!

Leave a Reply

