Spiced red lentils

January 10, 2011

Happy Snow Day to everyone in Overland Park and Kansas City!  This snow day has given me a chance to finally step back into the blogging world, not that anyone really missed me, but I have missed it!  😀  I haven’t had a lot of time or money to do cooking last semester or over the break.  The Fall semester really kicked my butt, but I survived it and here I am!  Before I tell you about an amazing meal the other night, I want to shout out a congratulations to a friend of mine, Amber!  She just finished her raw vegan culinary school training at Matthew Kenny’s 105degrees Academy.  If you’d like to read more about it, visit her blog:  AlmostVeganBlog.com.

I decided I needed to use some of my spiced red lentils that I’ve had for ages now.  I just didn’t know many recipes with them.  I found one online at MayoClinic.com.  I revised it a bit, since I did not have time to go out and collect everything that was needed, but it still turned out great!

1 1/4 cups dried red lentils, picked over, rinsed and drained

3 cups of water

1 bay leaf

1/2 teaspoon of salt

2 tablespoons of olive oil

2 dashes of chili powder (original recipe called for 1/2 serrano chili, seeded and finely chopped – I used chili powder instead since it was the only “spicy” spice I had)

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 teaspoons of ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon of ground coriander

1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon

3 tablespoons of dried parsley (the original recipe called for 3 tablespoons of chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley, which is probably better, but I did not have any and dried parsley worked just fine!)

3 tablespoons of dried cilantro (the original recipe called for 3 tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro)

1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper

2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar

In a medium pot over high heat, combine the lentils, water, bay leaf, and 1/4 teaspoon of the salt.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low, cover partially and simmer until the lentils are tender, but still firm, 12-14 minutes.  Drain and discard the bay leaf.  Set aside.

Meanwhile in a small frying pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the garlic and chili powder and saute until softened, about 30 seconds.  Add the cumin ground coriander, and cinnamon and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute.  remove the pan from the heat.

Add the spice mixture to the pot of lentils.  Toss gently to mix.  Stir in the parsley and cilantro with the remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and the pepper.  Stir in the vinegar and serve.

This dish was just delightful!  I highly recommend it for a quick dinner for yourself.  I even had enough leftovers for 3 lunches!  It was very filling and only took me about 30 minutes to put together.

2 Responses to “Spiced red lentils”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    Thanks for the shout out 😀 This weather’s crazy! SO much for errand-running…

Leave a Reply

