Chicken and Veggie Casserole

January 16, 2011

I made it through the first week of classes!  I was actually very glad to be back.  I had missed everyone.  One of my great Packer buddies, Jessica, turned 23 on Wednesday, so we went to La Bodega to celebrate.  It was my first time going to La Bodega and I loved it.  The food was really good, the drinks were amazing, but beware of the prices if you think about going.  It’s quite easy to run up your bill.  We started out with potatoes in a spicy tomato sauce.  The were delicious.  To drink, I started with red sangria (I just LOVE sangria – and the fresh fruit they put in it makes it even better).  The next tapa we ordered was meatballs in a spicy garlic cream sauce.  I could have eaten an entire plate of that myself!  For my second drink I decided to try their “Re: Verse Mojito.”  It consisted of re:Verse mixed with mint, lime and white rum with a splash of lemon-lime and a sprig of mint and lime.  It was a little strong to my liking.  I could have used a little more lime in it.  Jessica and Erin decided to get a third tapa, breaded artichokes wrapped in ham a red pepper aioli.  I’m not a big fan of artichokes, so I decided to try a cup of their garlic and white bean soup, with chorizo, chicken and spinach.  It caught my eye when I first glanced at the menu and I really wanted to try it.  It was just as amazing as I had thought.  But dessert was the best part of all.  :)  The three of us each ordered a Spanish Coffee.  The made them at the table.  They started by pouring a little Bacardi 151 in the glass, then coating the inside of the glass with it.  They then set it on fire and began to shake cinnamon and sugar into the glass while it was still on fire.  It was quite a sight as the sparks dazzled above the glass.  Then they filled 1/3rd of the glass with Kahluha, followed by coffee and topped with whipped cream and cinnamon and sugar.  It was the warmest, most delectable dessert drink I have tasted.

You better bet the first sip was heaven!

That dinner was a great mid-week treat.

Since it’s a three day weekend, I decided I wanted to cook a meal or two.  I rarely have the time or money to cook and I would like to start a trend for myself of making a meal Sunday to last me through the week.  Eating healthy this winter is not proving as easy as last winter.  I decided to cook Tyler and I a chicken and veggie casserole for dinner Saturday night before I went to usher for an Honor Band at school.  While I was cooking our casserole, I decided to also make a slower cooker meal, pot roast, for my meal for the week.

Chicken and Veggie Casserole

1 can of condensed cream of chicken soup, undiluted

1/2 cup of fat-free skim milk

1/4 teaspoon of dried thyme

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/4 teaspoon of pepper

2 boneless, skinless cooked chicken breasts, cup into 1-inch pieces

1 1/2 cups of frozen corn, thawed

2 cups of frozen mixed veggies, thawed

2 sliced, cooked potatoes

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and grease a 1-1/2-qt. baking dish.

In a large bowl, combine the soup, milk, thyme, salt and pepper.  Stir in the chicken, corn, veggies and potatoes.  I just used some leftover frozen veggies I had in my freezer – a mix between mixed veggies, corn, and peas.  Also, I may recommend placing the sliced, cooked potatoes on the bottom of the greased baking dish, rather than trying to mix them in – they may start to mash.  Pour into greased baking dish and bake uncovered for 15 minutes, until heated through.  And…voila!

It smelled so amazing that I had served served myself and Tyler before I got my camera out!

We both enjoyed this meal so much that I only have enough leftovers for about 2 meals!  :)

Go to my Whole Foods Pot Roast post for the continuation of the evening!

 

2 Responses to “Chicken and Veggie Casserole”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I LOVE La Bodega and have been wanting to go back for like 2 years now :( That drink sounds awesome. Did you go to the new one in Leawood?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

