Whole Foods Pot Roast

January 17, 2011

This post is a continuation from Chicken and Veggie Casserole.  As I stated in the other post, I was cooking two meals so that I would have one that I could eat for the week.  I almost forgot to mention what I was drinking while I was cooking!  If I haven’t said so yet, I always have a glass of wine while I’m cooking or baking.  🙂  We did not have any open wine while I was cooking the other night, but we did have a dessert wine in the refrigerator leftover from the holidays.

This ChocoVine is very rich.  The first glass I had of it over the holidays was almost too much for me.  So I poured myself about a half a glass and it was just perfect.  The next time I have it, I plan to try it with coffee.  I think it is perfect for that.

On to the pot roast!  The recipe I used is from Whole Foods website.  It’s a slow cooker meal, so it was pretty easy to cook while I was cooking the chicken veggie casserole.

Whole Foods Pot Roast

2 Tbsp of all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp of salt

1/4 tsp of pepper

t tsp dried thyme

1 1/2 lbs boneless beef chuck roast, trimmed of access fat

3 Tbsp canola oil

3 carrots peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces

2 potatoes peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces

2 small onions (or 1 large onion), cut into wedges

4 cloves of garlic, minced

2 cups reduced-sodium beef broth

1 (6 oz) can of tomato paste

On a plate, combine flour, salt, pepper and thyme.  Dredge meat in four mixture, coating all sides.  Heat oil in a large saucepan and brown both sides, turning once.  Meanwhile, place, carrots, onions, potatoes and garlic in a 5 or 6-quart slow cooker (I used 1 large onion, and I would recommend 1/2 of a large onion, or 1 small onion – 1 large onion was too much).  Top with browned roast.  Pour 2 tablespoons of water into the pan your browned the roast in, scrape up any browned bits and add that rich liquid to the slow cooker along with the beef broth and tomato paste.  Cover and cook until beef and vegetables are very tender, 8 to 10 hours on the low-heat setting or 4 to 5 hours on the high-heat setting.

The meat wasn’t as tender as I had expect it to be, so cut it up a bit before I put everything into one big bowl (it was hard to find a bowl big enough to hold it all!).  I poured myself a bowl…

…and as you can see (or perhaps you cannot see, but believe me…) there were a LOT of onions.  I’m not a big onion person.  I love using onions to flavor meals, but I do not care for the texture of them.  Tyler and I both agreed that this meal was not as tasty as the Chicken Veggie Casserole.  It was a little sweet for my liking (I prefer my “hot” meals to be more on the salty side) and Tyler thought it could have less tomato paste.  If I were to cook this again, I would make sure I had a GOOD piece of roast and I would probably use less onions and perhaps add more salt.  All-in-all, this meal wasn’t bad, just not one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

