Raw Caramel-fudge Brownies from “Hot Raw Chef,” Amber Shea

March 20, 2011

If you haven’t heard already, my good friend Amber (www.AlmostVeganBlog.com) won the “Hot Raw Chef” contest with her Raw Caramel-fudge brownies!  They looked so amazing that I just had to make them myself!

Ingredients:

1 cup walnuts

1 cup pecans

3/4 cup dates

Pinch of salt

1/3 cup cacao powder

Frosting:

1/2 cup soaked cashews (Be sure to soak these overnight!  I made the mistake of only soaking them for about 5 minutes and it made my frosting lumpy – but still good!)

1/4 cup raw agave

1/4 cup lucuma powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp lemon juice

Pinch of salt

1/4 cup coconut oil

2 Tbsp cacao butter

Grease a 9X9 baking dish with coconut oil.  In a food processor, combine the walnuts, pecans, dates and salt (You may want to add the dates one at a time so that they can become fully incorporated).

Next, add the cacao powder and pulse the processor until fully combined.

Press the mix into the grease 9X9 baking dish.  I just used my fingers to make sure it was firmly pressed into the dish.

It will be pretty thin (You can use a smaller dish for thicker brownies)…

Put the brownies in the fridge to chill while you prepare the frosting.

Blend together in a blender, the soaked cashews, agave, lucuma powder, vanilla, lemon juice and salt.  Melt together the coconut oil and cacao butter.  While the blender is running, stream in the melted ingredients.  If you have difficulties blending it, you can add some water.  (I added about 1/4 cup of water to get my ingredients to mix.  You should not need that much water as long as you remember to soak your cashews overnight.)

Take your brownies out of the fridge and pour the icing on top.  Use a spatula to spread the frosting on.  Place brownies back in the fridge to firm up a little.  When you are ready to serve your brownies, you can choose to put a piece of fresh fruit on top.  I did not have any fresh fruit when I made these brownies, and I can tell you they were fabulous!  I even served leftovers at ACDA’s Conductors Cup one Friday and they were a hit.

One Response to “Raw Caramel-fudge Brownies from “Hot Raw Chef,” Amber Shea”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I’m glad you (and everyone else) liked the brownies 🙂

Leave a Reply

