Birthday Week

April 1, 2011

This week was my Spring Break from school, however it didn’t feel much like a Spring Break.  I am sad that it is almost over, though.  I started my Spring Break by celebrating my birthday last Saturday.  My birthday was really this past Tuesday, but I had dinner followed by drinks at my place last Saturday.  It was pretty fun!  We ate dinner at Old Chicago.

(Left to Right:  Tyler, Me, and my Mom)

After dinner, we headed to my house where a few more people met us.  One of my dearest friends, Amber, made a delicious dessert for me for my birthday!

It is a raw vegan lemon cream tart with raspberry coulis.  It was so yummy, I don’t even know how to describe it.  The consistency was smooth and it had just the right amount of sweet against tart.  Amber will be putting this recipe in her cookbook when it comes out!  I will definitely let you know when her cookbook will be coming out!

The rest of my week was a bit of a bum.  I worked 9am to 5pm Monday and Wednesday and spent most of Tuesday following my middle school teacher to a meeting about their 7th grade general music classes.  But Tuesday evening, Tyler took me to dinner at Garozzo’s Italian Restaurant.  It was awesome.  We shared a combination plate of toasted cheese and meat raviolis and I had a side Cesar salad minus any dressing.  For our meals, Tyler enjoyed their Spedini special (3 different kinds of chicken spedini) and I enjoyed a meat and cheese lasagna with a glass of Shiraz.  I did not finish my lasagna so that I would have room for dessert.  ;)  We shared a Tiramisu for dessert.  It was the best Tiramisu I have ever had.  It was moist and flavorful.  And Tyler got me wonderful gifts, as well.

Look at that BLING!  Ha, I actually joked with him about getting me “bling.”  But they are beautiful and I love them.  And I will surely be using the Victoria’s Secret gift card soon.  I spend too much money there.  :)

I’m finishing my Spring Break week with two days off (Thursday and Friday), which consisted of studying and shopping….and COOKING!  ;)  Tonight I am making a delicious homemade pizza (TB-Posted Soon).

4 Responses to “Birthday Week”

  1. Rebecca said

    Thank you for inviting me to your birthday dinner! I had fun as well, though I did not get to share many drinks with you. We shall have to remedy that. Your black bean and rice dinner looks really good! I will have to make that for my husband and see if we like it.
    -Becca

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    SO glad you loved the lemon pie! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

