Sahara Restaurant

April 25, 2011

They put a new restaurant in by my school called Sahara.  It’s a Middle Eastern Restaurant.  I was sad that it replaced a chocolate store, but did not hesitate to try it out!  I’ve been there a few times with my friend Jessica and the first time, we both tried the hummus plate.

Which was served with a basket FULL of pita…:)

The hummus wasn’t my favorite, but it wasn’t bad.  The next time we went, we tried falafel, which I had never had before.  It…was…AMAZING!!

The sauce in the middle is a cucumber sauce and it is a great refreshing flavor that adds to the falafel.  I am definitely going to find a recipe to make this.

The last time I went, I wanted to try their lentil soup.

It was very good!  I am so glad I have tried so many different things there, but I falafel is my absolute favorite and ever since I have tried it, I have gotten it.  :)  (I got it with my soup, also.)

I definitely recommend this restaurant (51st and Oak in KCMO)!  Give it a taste!

One Response to “Sahara Restaurant”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I’ve never heard of this place! I HAVE to go! Everything looks amazing, especially that super-creamy hummus. That sauce with the falafel is called tzatziki; it’s made with yogurt but it’s super easy to make at home w/soy yogurt :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

