Tortellini Primavera

May 2, 2011

Tortellini Primavera is one of Tyler’s favorite meals that I make.  I must share it with you.  I found it in Eating Well magazine, but I modified it.  When I first made it, I modified it because I did not have all the ingredients.  Tyler and I like it so much, so this is how I always make it now!

Ingredients:

14-oz. can vegetable broth

2 Tbsp all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

3+ cloves garlic, minced

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1 Tbsp oregano

1/8 tsp salt

16-oz. bag frozen mixed veggies

16-0z. package frozen cheese tortellini

Boil a large pot of water.  Whisk broth and flour in a small bowl.  Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic and cook, stirring until just beginning to brown, 1 to 2 minutes.  Add the broth mixture to the pan, bring to a boil and cook, stirring occasionally, until the sauce is thick enough to coat the back of the spoon, about 3 minutes.  Remove from the heat and stir in cheese, oregano and salt.  Add the veggies and tortellini to the boiling water.  Return the water to a simmer and cook until the veggies and tortellini are tender, 3 to 5 minutes.  Drain.  Add to the pan with the sauce and stir to coat.

My mouth is watering just looking at this picture!  If you like, you can top your tortellini with some shredded mozzarella cheese.

This meal was made with frozen peas, since I was out of frozen mixed veggies.  I hope you try it!  It’s to die for!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

