Summer is Here!

May 9, 2011

I cannot believe summer is finally here!  I thought it would never come!  This past year was the busiest I have ever experienced.  I can’t tell you how many times I changed my mind about what I wanted to do with my life.  But everything seems smooth sailing from here on out.  :)

There are so many things that happened this year that I must talk about, but I will start with something that’s happening right now.  I decided (once again) to go vegetarian.  I am still eating eggs, however.  So Vegetarian-Ov0, is what I have decided upon.  Things are going alright.  Sometimes I forget that I’ve gone Vegetarian!  Not that I order meat, I just happened to not eat much meat since before I went vegetarian, that I don’t always notice the difference.  Why go vegetarian?  I find that I experience and find more variety in foods when eating vegetarian.  And yes, I am an animal lover, but that does not affect what I eat.  I’ve tried many new vegetarian meals that you will hear about in later posts.

On Mother’s Day, my sister and I always do the Mother’s Day Walk in Overland Park.  It was such a beautiful day for a walk.  My sister was enjoying herself…

…and was I!

Last night I had an amazing choir concert with Gratus.

There is a story behind Gratus.  One of the grad students at UMKC put together this little group for her doctoral recital.  We had our first concert in March, I believe.  We all enjoyed it so much that we begged her to have another recital.  So she brought us together and within a month, we put on another concert.  If I knew how to post music in my blog, I would definitely put some up.  It is almost impossible to describe how music can make you feel when singing with others and how connected you can become with each person as well as the conductor.  You have to experience it for yourself.  And it is always amazing when you can give your audience that same feeling through your music.  I am so thankful to have been a part of Gratus.  Perhaps there will be another concert in the Fall!  I will let you know.  :)

The summer gets even better because….

I’m opening my first voice studio!!  I’m really excited and even though I only have one student so far, I look forward to expanding.  :)  If you know anyone who lives in the Overland Park, Kansas area and think they are interested in taking voice lessons, contact me!

I hope your summer is off to as good of a start as mine!

One Response to “Summer is Here!”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan said

    I’m sad I couldn’t do the walk this year! I’m glad you and your newly-veg-self got to, though :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

