Eat to Live – Take 2

March 25, 2013

I still can’t seem to get a handle on this blogging thing.  😛  I become so busy and exhausted that I don’t take the time to jump onto my blog.  I will try to get on more than once every 6 months.  🙂

As you are probably wondering how my eating to live is going, I must confess I did not succeed with the 6-week program.  But I’m not making a big deal about it.  Eating to live is a very different life style than what I’m used to and it’s not something I’m going to be able to jump into.  The good news is that I’ve gone almost completely vegetarian (I have the occasional egg, but try to make sure it’s “cage free”).  That was something I had tried to do in the past and failed many times.  But it’s now been at least 3 months since I have had any sort of meat other than eggs.  The next hardest thing to give up is going to be the delicious sweets that show up to my desk when there is a birthday.  🙂

I love my job.  I was just talking with my fiance the other day about how I have the best job (I was on Spring Break.  :P).  I love working with kids, I love learning new things, and the breaks we get are wonderful!  I am just finishing up my Spring Break and I can’t tell you  how many things I got done at home that were waiting to be done!  It’s been almost a year that Tyler and I have lived here and I am still unpacking and going through things that need to be sorted.  Not to mention all of the laundry I got done on my first weekday of Spring Break.  And I never thought I would be able to say this (not that I want to be saying this), but today was supposed to be our first day back and school and it’s a SNOW DAY!  So, because of this unexpected snow day in Spring, I am able to catch up on my blog.  😛

I always find myself most productive on Sundays.  I’ve had enough time to relax and realize the reality of my life and getting back to it.  It always seems to be on a Sunday that I make new goals and life changes for myself (or plan to for the coming Monday).  Well, yesterday I took it upon myself to get myself back into a routine.  I am pretty sure I do best a meeting my goals when I’m in a daily routine.  I created a 3-week meal plan for myself (working on it up to 6 weeks), mostly trying to follow Eat to Live.  I printed out a copy to carry around with myself so that if I end up snacking or changing something about a meal, I can write it in.  At the times that I have succeeded, I always wish I knew what it was I was eating and doing that helped me to succeed.  So hopefully keeping complete track of my eating routines will help me.  Now, when I was telling Tyler and this plan last night, he begins to ask me if he shouldn’t let me cheat.  Aw, my fiance knows me so well.  He knows how stubborn I can be.  I told him to just be supportive and that it would probably be best if he didn’t try to correct anything I end up doing, as I know how I can get angry at him for saying something, which is usually because I know he’s right and I become mad at myself for it.  Ah…to be a woman.  😉  Other routines I am going to try to build with this is to create a time in the evening that I will get ready for bed and read before I go to sleep.  I have never been a big reader, but have recently gotten into the Harry Potter books, as well as Kathy Reichs’s books (after “Bones” became my favorite TV show).

Tyler and I as Booth and Bones for Halloween, 2011

Tyler and I as Booth and Bones for Halloween, 2011

I have hopes to read 2 books in the next 6 weeks (I often read ONE book over the course of a couple years).  I also plan to go to the gym at least 6 times a week.  I have not been going to Title Boxing recently, 1. because they changed owners and got rid of one of my favorite trainers, 2. because I’ve been focusing more on cardio and have taken to running about 2.5 miles each time I go.  Also, when I go to the gym, I can often get my mom and/or my sister to join me.  😀  I am one of those people who needs that motivation from others.

Here is a look at my meal plan for my first couple of weeks (NOTE:  Some of the dinners are what we already have as leftovers, otherwise I’d choose meals with less carbs.  Also, my 28th birthday is on the first Friday, so I will probably splurge on dinner that evening):

Week 1:

Monday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Roasted Curry Cauliflower, apple

Tuesday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Black bean soup, apple

Wednesday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Indian Chole (carb – rice), orange

Thursday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Chili, apple

Friday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner –  ??  Birthday Dinner

Saturday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Soy “brat”, grilled veggies, vegan birthday cake

Sunday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Mac & Cheese w/ broccoli (carb – wheat pasta), apple

Week 2:

Monday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Zucchini Pasta w/ Bolognese, apple

Tuesday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Roasted Curry Cauliflower

Wednesday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Chili, apple

Thursday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Indian Chole or White bean and garlic soup, apple

Friday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Mac & Cheese w/ broccoli (carb – wheat pasta), apple

Saturday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Chickpea Burgers w/ roasted veggies, orange

Sunday:

Breakfast – Fruit & Greens Smoothie

Lunch – Salad w/ nuts & seeds, piece of fruit

Dinner – Black bean Crockpot soup, fruit

The good thing is that I sort of know where my downfalls are.  When school is in session, I am usually pretty good about having my morning smoothie and my salad and fruit for lunch.  My downfalls are usually if there is a lunch brought into work, if there is a student birthday, or snacking at home after dinner (usually because I sit in front of the TV all evening).  I am hoping that going to the gym after work, then coming home and cooking dinner will get rid of my evening snacking.  I am also going to try and watch less TV.  My other downfalls are the weekends.  I’m usually a creature of habit and get up around 7am, the latest, on the weekends.  If I eat at an usual time, however, it throws me completely out of whack and I end up skipping my salad and going straight for starchy foods.  So long as I keep myself in routine even on the weekends (at least for the next 6 weeks), I think I should be okay.  The other thing that sometimes happens on the weekends is going out to breakfast with the family.  My family is a HUGE breakfast family.  It was the thing when we visited relatives out of town that we all always went to breakfast together.  So long story short – I LOVE BREAKFAST FOOD!  Ways that I have avoided this issue in the past couple of months is that I would eat before we would go out (especially when I knew there was nothing healthy I could eat at that particular restaurant).  So I feel I am pretty organized and hopeful and I will try to post weekly about how it is going.

Before I go, I will leave you with some photos from this winter.  🙂

I got engaged!!

I got engaged!!

My dad wasn't fast enough, so had him get down on his knee again.  :)

My dad wasn’t fast enough, so had him get down on his knee again. 🙂

The happy couple.

The happy couple.

Vegan Strawberry Cheesecake - and the most expensive dessert we have ever made.

Vegan Strawberry Cheesecake – and the most expensive dessert we have ever made.

Beautiful 12 inches of snow

Beautiful 12 inches of snow

...and the driveway that made me hate snow and winter altogether...

…and the driveway that made me hate snow and winter altogether…

St. Patty’s Day!  We cooked brunch at our townhouse.  We had real meat and eggs for most guests, and fake meat and eggs for myself and my brother’s girlfriend (who is vegetarian).

I was definitely festive!!

I was definitely festive!!

We made our own green beer.

We made our own green beer.

Tyler and I being festive.

Tyler and I being festive.

Karma and I.

Karma and I.

Homemade biscuits!!

Homemade biscuits!!

Look!  My fiance can cook too!  Who would have known...I love this man.

Look! My fiance can cook too! Who would have known…I love this man.

The man and woman of the house.

The man and woman of the house.

Time to eat!

Time to eat!

Time to relax...

Time to relax…

3 Responses to “Eat to Live – Take 2”

  1. I am so impressed by (and proud of you for) your meal planning – that is awesome! I don’t know why I have such a hard time doing that. I think it’s because I try to plan for both me and Matt, but Matt always has sudden business trips pop up, and/or he’ll come home from work with his food for the day uneaten because his team went out to lunch, so that throws off my plan for the week because I’m OCD…oy.

    Also, I normally drinks smoothies pretty much year-round but I haven’t had one since probably January. The cold, the snow! But I know once it warms up I’ll be back on the smoothie train.

    Your idea to turn your meal plan into a food diary as you go is also great. I too often look back and wonder “What was I eating at __ time?” (when I felt better, or when I had more energy, or whatever), but I never stick to food-logging for very long at all. I think it reminds me too much of “dieting,” which I’m trying desperately to get away from because, well, I’ve done far too much of that over the last several years…writing down what I eat tends to end up with me finding ways to eat less and less (which clearly does not help me lose weight, and has only harmed my health, so I’ve got to stop that). But maybe I should give food-logging another go but try to keep my attitude about it more reasonable.

    Thumbs-up too on going back to Title Boxing. That type of workout is better for long-term health than “chronic cardio” like running (which I, once again, have had to learn the hard way!). I get in cardio ruts too and I HAVE to stop that. For the last 3 weeks I’ve done really well at focusing on weight-lifting instead of mindless, repetitive motion. It’s healthier for the metabolism, which I’m trying repair.

    I love breakfast/brunch food toooo! Someday it would be fun to make a brunch feast together. Tofu scramble, homemade biscuits with tempeh sausage/white bean gravy, pancakes, fruit salad…eh?!

    P.S. What is “Indian Chole”? Tell me more!

    • Thanks, Amber! Yeah, I’ve tried food-logging in the past, too, and have never stuck with it. But I think since I’ve got the set goal of six weeks, I’ll be more apt to do it (knowing I won’t be doing it forever). I haven’t actually gone back to Title Boxing, yet. I’m focusing more on cardio right now, but will probably return to TB soon.

      We should DEFINITELY do a brunch feast together sometime! I have attempted tofu scramble, but didn’t like it because it was too mushy and solid enough for my liking. Maybe you have had better success than I have at it?

      I found this recipe for Indian Chole – http://russianmomcooks.com/2012/08/22/chole/ – It was alright, but I think it had too much of a “clove” taste to it. We ate it over parboiled rice and have a lot of leftovers, which is why it is on my meal plan. But I probably won’t make it again.

      • I use extra-firm tofu for my scrambles, so that might make the difference. We’ll have to prepare a team brunch sometime and make some together 🙂

        The Indian Chole recipe looks awesome! Though I’d probably reduce or omit the cloves too – I’m not big on heavy clove flavor in savory food, myself.

        Are you doing anything (“going-out”-wise) for your b-day this weekend?

Leave a Reply

