Eat to Live – Week 1

March 31, 2013

Happy Easter!  This weekend has been one of the best in a long time.  I am usually that person who has things planned out all weekend and is constantly worrying about what I should be doing for next week, or next month, or next year.  But this weekend, for once, I just relaxed and didn’t worry about a thing.  Tyler and I spent a lot of time hanging out together at home, I got to see some wonderful friends, and I spent some quality time with my family.

I stuck to my menu plan for the most part this week, but once the weekend hit, I sort of lost track of the things I was eating and let myself go a little.  Normally I would be very disappointed in myself, but it was a weekend for celebrating.  My birthday was on Friday, so my mom and I baked a 3 layer vegan birthday cake.

20130330_155930

I have never made a layer cake before and my mom said she usually doesn’t have success with them, but it came out great and tasted good!

IMG_20130329_200534

I shared my cake with some friends who came over for a movie night.  My friend Amber made me the most amazing blondies with a peanut butter frosting.  They were so good!!  Thank you, Amber!

20130329_212307

As Spring tried to show itself this weekend, we had a cookout with my family in celebration of my birthday.  I got some wonderful birthday gifts!  The one below is from my amazing parents.  They know me so well.  🙂

bdaygift1

The cookout was a great success and I got to try some Tofurkey beer brats!  With a family from Wisconsin, ya gotta know that brats are one of the best things ever.  😉  And the Tofurkey brats were a great substitute.

We ended our Saturday evening with Easter egg coloring…

IMG_20130331_110958IMG_20130331_111235IMG_20130331_111310IMG_20130331_111340

This is me trying to be creative in announcing our date we have set.  🙂

Easter has been a wonderful day of family and great food (not necessarily what I should be eating, but still good).  I feel so lucky to have such wonderful people in my life.  I hope you had a great weekend, as well!

Leave a Reply

